Alaska Contractor Licenses

Alaska law requires that contractors be registered with the Department of Community and Economic Development.

Contractor License Lookup in Alaska

Where do you go when you want to lookup the license of a contractor in Alaska? To find out if a mechanical, specialty or general contractor has been licensed by the Alaska Division of Occupation Licensing, click on   http://www.dced.state.ak.us/occ/pcon.htm or call (907) 465-2546 or (907) 465-3035. To find out if a plumbing, electrical, asbestos abatement, hazardous paint, explosives, or boiler contractor has been certified by the Alaska Department of Labor/Mechanical Inspection, call (907) 269-4925 or click onhttp://labor.state.ak.us/lss/mihome.htm.


Alaska recognizes the following types of contractors:
General Contractor
General Contractor – Limited Residential
Specialty Contractor
Mechanical Contractor
Residential Endorsement
Mechanical Administrators
Electrical Administrators

Specialty contractor trades include the following:

Access flooring Marine
Acoustical and insulation Masonry
Asbestos abatement Mechanical, exempt
Carpentry, finish Painting
Carpentry, rough Plaster
Communications Road construction
Concrete and paving Roofing
Demolition Security system
Drilling Sheet metal
Drywall Sign
Electrical Solid fuel appliance
Elevator and conveying system Steel erection
Excavation Tile and terrazzo
Fence and guardrail Wallcovering
Floor covering Water and sewer
Glazing Water system
Landscaping Welding
Liquid or gas storage tank Other
Low voltage alarm and signal device

You can be licensed as a specialty contractor in only three distinct nonmechanical trades from this list.


Nonresidential General Contractor’s License

To apply for a general contractor license which doesn’t allow you to do undertake construction or alteration, or submit a bid of a privately owned residential structure. Alteration work may be done as long as the value of the work is less than 25% of the value of the structure being altered.

Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing
333 Willoughby Avenue, 9th Floor
P.O. Box 110806
Juneau, AK 99811-0806
(907) 465-2550
http://www.dced.state.ak.us/occ/

On the application, you will be asked for:

  • proof of liability insurance — at least $20,000 property damage, $50,000 injury or death to one person, $100,000 injury or death to more than one person
  • proof of workers’ compensation insurance
  • surety bond — $10,000 for a general contractor or $5,000 for a specialty or mechanical contractor

Nonresidential general contractor’s license fees: Alaska doesn’t require an exam for the nonresidential type of license. It will cost $50 nonrefundable to apply and $200 for the license. Licenses expire December 31 of even years.

You can purchase a new license or renew your current license online at http://www.commerce.state.ak.us/CBP/.


Residential General Contractor’s License

There’s quite a bit more involved in getting a general contractor’s license that lets you work on residential construction. First you must successfully complete the Alaska Craftsman Home Program (ACHP) or its equivalent, or a post-secondary course in Arctic engineering or its equivalent. You have to complete the course within two years before you apply for the license. The organizations listed below as providers of the Alaska craftsman home program or its equivalent training:

Alaska Craftsman Home Program, Inc.
P.O. Box 241647
Anchorage, AK 99524
Telephone: (907) 258-2247
Fax: (907) 258-5352
Web Site: http://www.alaska.net/~achpWisdom & Associates, Inc.
P.O. Box 3413
Kenai, AK 99611
Telephone: (907) 283-0629
Web Site: WisdomAndAssociates.comAlaska Building Science Network (ABSN)
P.O. Box 11-1097
Anchorage, AK 99511
Telephone: (800) 563-9927 or (907) 562-9927
Fax: (907) 563-8061
Web Site: http://www.absn.com

After completing the course, the next step is to get an Endorsement Application for Residential Construction from:

Department of Community and Economic Development
Division of Occupational Licensing
333 Willoughby Avenue, 9th Floor
P.O. Box 110806
Juneau, AK 99811-0806
(907) 465-3035
http://www.dced.state.ak.us/occ/

You will apply directly through the testing agency, Prometric. You can contact them at:

Prometric
http://www.prometric.com/Alaska/Construction.htm

This exam is given every three months in Anchorage, Fairbanks, and Juneau. The four-hour exam is open book, with 100 multiple choice questions. A score of 70 percent or above is required to pass the exam. Exam content includes:

Subject
Carpentry
Finishes
Concrete
Thermal & moisture protection
Masonry
Safety
Doors & Windows
Equipment & tools
Metals
Sitework
Building code & inspection
General plan reading

Residential general contractor’s license fees: They’ll send you an application and information on their Residential Contractor Endorsement Examination. It will cost $50 nonrefundable to apply and $200 for the license. The exam will cost $75.

You will also need to apply for a business license from the Business Licensing Section. You can contact them at:

Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development
Business Licensing Section
333 Willoughby Avenue, 9th Floor
P.O. Box 110806
Juneau, AK 99811-0806
(907) 465-2550
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us/CBP/

The business license will cost you $200 nonrefundable and it’s good for two calendar years. If you’ll be registering as a corporation, you need to contact:

Corporations Section
Division of Banking, Securities and Corporations
Department of Community and Economic Development
P.O. Box 110807
Juneau, AK 99811-0807
(907) 465-2521
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us/occ/home_corporations.htm
Recommended Reading for the Residential Contractor Exam


International Residential Code for One- and Two-Family Dwellings, International Code Council, 4051 West Flossmoor Road, Country Club Hills, IL 60478, http://www.iccsafe.org (reference allowed during the exam).

Specifications for the Application and Finishing of Gypsum Board, Gypsum Association, 810 First Street NE, Suite 510, Washington, DC 20002

Design and Control of Concrete Mixtures, Portland Cement Association, 5420 Old Orchard Road, Skokie, IL 60077-1083

Excavation & Grading Handbook, Nicholas E. Capachi, Craftsman Book Company, 6058 Corte del Cedro, P.O. Box 6500, Carlsbad, CA 92018
http://www.costbook.com

Northern Comfort: Advanced Cold Climate Home Building Techniques, Alaska Craftsman Home Program, P.O. Box 241647, Anchorage, AK 99524, http://www.alaska.net/-achp

Modern Carpentry, Willis H. Wagner, The Goodheart-Willcox Company, Inc., http://www.goodheartwilcox.com

Carpentry and Building Construction, Feirer, Hutchings & Feirer, McGraw-Hill Inc., Box 543, Blacklick, OH 43004-0543

You can get these books from:

Builders’ Book Depot
1033 Jefferson, Suite 500
Phoenix, AZ 85034
(800) 284-3434
http://www.buildersbookdepot.com/

For information on how to obtain examination references, call (877) 624-2562.


Certificates of Fitness for the Trades

The Alaska Department of Labor requires a Certificate of Fitness for plumbers, electricians, and workers with asbestos abatement, hazardous paint, explosives, and boilers.

Here’s a summary of the requirements:

Journeyman plumber
Required training or experience: 8000 hours work experience
Application fee: (nonrefundable) $50
License Fee (refundable): $200
Exam: yes
Certificate good for 2 years

Restricted plumber (gas)
Required training or experience: 4000 hours work experience
Application fee: (nonrefundable) $50
License Fee (refundable): $200
Exam: yes
Certificate good for 2 years

Restricted plumber (utility)
Required training or experience: 1000 hours work experience
Application fee: (nonrefundable) $50
License Fee (refundable): $200
Exam: yes
Certificate good for 2 years

Trainee plumber
Required training or experience: Must be enrolled in USDOL registered approved program
Application fee: (nonrefundable) $50
License Fee (refundable): $200
Exam: no
Certificate good for 2 years

Journeyman electrician
Required training or experience: 8000 hours work experience
Application fee: (nonrefundable) $50
License Fee (refundable): $200
Exam: yes
Certificate good for 2 years, 16 hours of continuing education to renew

Residential electrician
Required training or experience: 4000 hours work experience
Application fee: (nonrefundable) $50
License Fee (refundable): $200
Exam: yes
Certificate good for 2 years

Trainee electrician
Required training or experience: Must be enrolled in USDOL registered approved program
Application fee: (nonrefundable) $50
License Fee (refundable): $200
Exam: no
Certificate good for 2 years

Journeyman lineman
Required training or experience: 8000 hours work experience
Application fee: (nonrefundable) $50
License Fee: $200 bi-ennial
Exam: yes
Certificate good for 2 years

Lineman trainee
Required training or experience: Must be enrolled in USDOL registered approved program
Application fee: (nonrefundable) $50
License Fee: $200 bi-ennial
Exam: no
Certificate good for 2 years

Reciprocal journeyman electrician
CO, MN, MT, NE, ND, SD, UT, WY, NM, OK, NH, TX, AR
Required training or experience: 
none
Application fee: (nonrefundable) $50
License Fee: $200 bi-ennial
Exam: no
Certificate good for 2 years

Boiler operator class 1
Required training or experience: 2 years work experience or class 2 license 1 year
Fee (nonrefundable): $200 application fee, no license fee
Exam: yes
Certificate good for 3 years

Boiler operator class 2
Required training or experience: 1 year work experience or class 3 license 6 months
Fee (nonrefundable): $200 application fee, no license fee
Exam: yes
Certificate good for 3 years

Boiler operator class 3
Required training or experience: 6 months work experience
Fee (nonrefundable): $200 application fee, no license fee
Exam: yes
Certificate good for 3 years

Boiler operator class 4
Required training or experience: none
Fee (nonrefundable): $200 application fee, no license fee
Exam: yes
Certificate good for 3 years

Study guides for electricians’ certificates are the National Electrical CodeLineman and Cableman’s Handbook, and the National Electrical Safety Code. Study guide for plumbers’ certificates is the Uniform Plumbing Code.

To apply for a Certificate of Fitness, contact:

Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development
Mechanical Inspection

3301 Eagle Street, Suite 302
Anchorage, AK 99503
(907) 269-4925 Option #1
E-mail: [email protected]
http://www.labor.state.ak.us/lss/mihome.htm

Application are available online at http://www.labor.state.ak.us/lss/lssforms.htm.

The following licenses are issued by the Department of Labor and Workforce Development:

Asbestos abatement
Required training or experience: 40 hours training initial, 8-hour refresher annual
Fee (nonrefundable): $100
Exam: no
Certificate good for 1 year

Hazardous paint handler
Required training or experience: 16 hours training initial, 8-hour refresher annual per license period
Fee (nonrefundable): $150
Exam: no
Certificate good for 3 years

Explosives handler
Required training or experience: 6 months work experience
Other: background fee and 2 sets of fingerprints
Fee (nonrefundable): $150
Exam: yes
Certificate good for 3 years

Contact the Department with any questions:

Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development
Occupational Safety and Health
Juneau: (907) 465-4855
Anchorage: (907) 269-4940
Fairbanks: (907) 451-2888
http://www.labor.state.ak.us/lss/oshhome.htm

These licenses use the same application, available online at http://www.labor.state.ak.us/lss/lssforms.htm.


Electrical Administrator’s License

You must have a license to act as an electrical administrator in Alaska.

An electrical administrator may be licensed in the following categories:

  • Unlimited Commercial Wiring
  • Residential Wiring
  • Controls and Control Wiring
  • Inside Communications
  • Outside Communications
  • Unlimited Line Work Outside

For licensure by examination, you will submit your application and $125 fee for examination to:

Prometric
http://www.prometric.com/Alaska/Construction.htm

All exams are multiple-choice and open Code book. Here are details on subject areas for the various exams.

Subject Percentage of exam
Residential Wiring Administrator (40 questions, 2 hours)
General electrical knowledge 15
Grounding and bonding 15
Service, feeders and branch circuits 15
Raceways and enclosures 15
Conductors and cables 15
Equipment for general use 10
Special equipment 5
Alaska statutes and regulations 5
Safety 5
Inside Communications Administrator (40 questions, 2 hours)
General electrical knowledge 15
Grounding and bonding 15
Low voltage systems 15
Communications systems 20
CATV 10
Conductors and cables 5
Raceways and boxes 5
Requirements for electrical installation 5
Alaska statutes and regulations 5
Safety 5
Outside Communications Administrator (40 questions, 2 hours)
General electrical knowledge 15
Grounding and bonding 15
Low voltage systems 15
Communications systems 20
Poles and structures 5
Conductors and cables 5
Raceways and boxes 5
Requirements for electrical installation 5
Alaska statutes and regulations 5
Safety 5
Controls and Control Wiring Administrator (40 questions, 2 hours)
General electrical knowledge 15
Control wiring and equipment 15
Class 1, 2 and 3 control circuits 15
HVAC control wiring 15
Manual control circuits 10
Raceways and enclosures 5
Automatic control wiring 5
Transformers 5
Test equipment 5
Alaska statutes and regulations 5
Safety 5
Unlimited Linework Administrator (100 questions, 4 hours)
General electrical knowledge 15
Grounding and bonding 15
Transformers 15
Poles and circuits 15
Conductors and cables 10
Overhead lines 5
Underground lines 5
Electric supply stations 5
Communications systems 5
Alaska statutes and regulations 5
Safety 5
Unlimited Commercial Wiring Administrator (100 questions, 4 hours)
General electrical knowledge 15
Grounding and bonding 15
Service, feeders and branch circuits 15
Raceways and enclosures 15
Conductors and cables 15
Equipment for general use 5
Special occupancies 5
Special equipment 5
Alaska statutes and regulations 5
Safety 5

You must also apply for licensure through the Division. Contact them at:

Department of Community and Economic Development
Division of Occupational Licensing
Electrical Administrators
333 Willoughby Avenue, 9th Floor
P.O. Box 110806
Juneau, AK 99811-0806
(907) 465-3035
http://www.dced.state.ak.us/occ/pead.htm

The Division will ask for the completed application and fees, along with the following requirements:

  • certified diploma or transcripts from a college, university or trade school
  • resume detailing experience
  • verification of qualifying experience from three licensed electrical administrators
  • proof of passing the exam

If you have passed an equivalent exam in another state, you may qualify to get your license without taking Alaska’s exam. Check with the Division for details.

Electrical administrator contractor’s license fees: It will cost $50 nonrefundable to apply and $200 for the license. The exam will cost $125.

Recommended Reading for the Electrical Administrator Exams


The following books are is allowed in all Electrical Administrator exams. Check with Prometric for more exam reference recommendations.

Alaska Electrical Administrators Statutes and Regulations, Alaska Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional
Licensing, P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806, www.commerce.state.ak.us/occ.

NFPA 70 – National Electrical Code, National Fire Protection Association, 1 Batterymarch
Park, P.O. Box 9101, Quincy, MA 02269-9101, www.nfpa.org.


Mechanical Administrator’s License

You must have a license to act as an mechanical administrator in Alaska.

A mechanical administrator may be licensed in the following categories:

  • Heating, Cooling and Process Piping
  • Mechanical Systems Temperature Control
  • Residential HVAC
  • Residential Plumbing and Hydronic Heating
  • Unlimited HVAC/ Sheet Metal
  • Unlimited Refrigeration

You’ll need to submit your application for examination to:

Prometric
http://www.prometric.com

All exams are multiple-choice and open Code book. Here are details on subject areas for the various exams.

Subject Percentage of exam
Unlimited HVAC/Sheet Metal  (112 questions, 4 hours)
Alaska statutes and regulations 10
Boilers/burners 15
Chimneys, flues and vents 15
Fuel piping and storage 15
Controls/electrical 10
Duct systems and sheet metal 10
Steam and hot water piping systems 8
A/C systems 5
Piping and tubing 4
Chillers 4
Pneumatics 3
Evaporative cooling 1
Residential Plumbing and Hydronic Heating (100 questions, 4 hours)
General knowledge 22
Alaska statutes and regulations 10
Drainage, waste and sanitary vents 14
Fuel gas and oil piping 14
Water piping and backflow prevention 10
Specialty plumbing 8
Plumbing fixtures 6
Hydronic heating 6
Isometric analysis 10
Heating, Cooling and Process Piping (112 questions, 4 hours)
Piping 20
Boilers 15
Chillers 15
Chimneys, flues and vents 15
Combustion air 10
Controls 8
Test and inspection 7
Alaska statutes and regulations 10
Residential HVAC (65 questions, 2 hours)
Alaska statutes and regulations 18
Burners 12
Controls 12
Fuel piping storage 11
Chimneys 11
Sheet metal and duct systems 11
Test/Inpect 8
A/C systems 12
Evaporative cooling 5
Unlimited Refrigeration (112 questions, 4 hours)
Component knowledge 21
Alaska statutes and regulations 11
Testing 15
Piping and tubing 14
Commercial refrigeration 14
Controls 10
Evacuation and charging 8
Sizing 7
Temperature Control Administrator (62 questions, 2 hours)
Electricity and electronics 23
Alaska statutes and regulations 19
HVAC unit controls 14
Pneumatics 12
Terminology 8
Piping and tubing 8
Sizing and estimating 8
Testing and inspections 8

You must also apply for licensure through the Division. Contact them at:

Department of Community and Economic Development
Division of Occupational Licensing
Regulation of Mechanical Administrators
333 Willoughby Avenue, 9th Floor
P.O. Box 110806
Juneau, AK 99811-0806
(907) 465-3035
http://www.dced.state.ak.us/occ/pmec.htm

The Division will ask for the completed application and fees, along with the following requirements:

  • certified diploma or transcripts from a college, university or trade school
  • resume detailing experience
  • verification of qualifying experience from three licensed mechanical administrators
  • proof of passing the exam

If you have passed an equivalent exam in another state, you may qualify to get your license without taking Alaska’s exam. Check with the Division for details.

Mechanical administrator contractor’s license fees: It will cost $50 nonrefundable to apply and $250 for the license. The exam will cost $125.

Recommended Reading for the Mechanical Administrator Exams


The following book is the reference for the state-specific portion of the examination and is allowed in all exams. Check with Prometric for more exam reference recommendations.

Alaska Mechanical Administrators Statutes and Regulations, Alaska Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806, www.commerce.state.ak.us/occ.


Department of Transportation (DOT)

All firms bidding on Alaska DOT projects must be registered. Bidders must submit a registration form. Contact:

Alaska Department of Transportation & Public Facilities 
P.O. Box 112500
Anchorage, AK 99811-2500
(907) 465-6990
http://www.dot.state.ak.us/

The form is available online at http://dot.alaska.gov/procurement/index.shtml.


Out-of-State Corporations

Out-of-state corporations must get a Certificate of Authority to do business in Alaska from the Alaska Secretary of State. To apply for this certificate, contact:

Corporations , Business and Professional Licensing
Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development
PO Box 110806
Juneau, AK 99811-0806
(907) 465-2550
Fax: (907) 465-2974
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us/occ/home_corporations.htm

The application is available online at http://www.commerce.state.ak.us/occ/cforms.htm.

Find an error? Please e-mail the Web Master